Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.
Close Banner
Advertisement
This ad is displayed using third party content and we do not control its accessibility features.
Routines
|personal story

I'm A Professional Pole Dancer: Here Are 10 Things I Wish Everyone Knew About Pole Dancing

Irmingard Mayer
Author:
February 15, 2021
Irmingard Mayer
By Irmingard Mayer
mbg Contributor
Irmingard is a professional pole dancer, instructor aerialist with a background in gymnastics and theater. She is AFAA group fitness certified as well as pole fitness certified through Xpert and ElevatED.
February 15, 2021

I started pole dancing after seeing it performed at a live event in New York City. The women mystified me with their grace and strength, and I wanted to learn how to move like them. After my first class, however, I found that pole dancing was hard—every muscle in my body ached for days.

After much practice and training, I'm now proud to say I'm a professional pole dancer and aerialist. But it wasn't easy. Here are 10 things people might not know about this fitness form.

Most pole dancers, regardless of age, are in the best shape of their lives.

Pole dancing is a full-body workout. It is resistance training and cardio in one, and flexibility is improved as well. Pole dancers perform acrobatic tricks either suspending their weight or propelling it around a metal pole. The simple act of climbing a pole is an incredible display of strength. It is no surprise, then, that most pole dancers insist they have never looked or felt better.

Natasha Wang, a world champion pole dancer, didn’t even start the exercise until age 29. Greta Pontarelli is a champion pole dancer at age 63—and she only began a few years ago!

There are many different types of pole dancing.

Pole dancing is extremely versatile. There are three main branches: sport, art, and sexy: