THE INCOMPLEAT REGISTER 2023



A FAAn awards listzine published by Nic Farey 2657 Rungsted Street Las Vegas NV 89142 fareynic@gmail.com

The man who admitted he ignored all the APAs

<u>The Category Stomp...</u>

By Nic Farey, current FAAn Awards Administrator

"The Incompleat Register" is published as a FAAn Award voters' <u>guide</u> and should <u>not</u> be considered to be a definitive list of what you can and cannot vote for. My sources are primarily Bill Burns' efanzines.com, Guy Lillian's listzine 'The Zine Dump' and also paper zines and pdfs (or links) personally received. As I can't possibly be aware of everything, all votes received will be counted in good faith, subject to proper categorization.

This listzine is intended to define the proper categorization of titles published in 2023, and by implication the qualifying writers, artists and loccers who have appeared therein. Please note that reprinted work from prior years is not qualifying for a 2024 individual award, even if the reprint or anthology zine in which they appear is.

The awards are sponsored by the current Corflu, which for 2024 is COR41U in Las Vegas, NV, and the results will be announced at the banquet on Sunday March 3. Current non-members wishing to view the ceremonies in real time will need a (cheap!) virtual membership. Details at corflu.org .

Thanks to Bill Burns, John Coker, Tommy Ferguson, Dave Langford, George Phillies and Mark Plummer for additional compilation assistance, corrections and clarifications.

2024 FAAn Awards: Procedure

The <u>sole</u> criterion for a FAAn award vote is that work should have been published for the first time in the calendar year 2023. This includes collections of older material in a new format.

Each category invites you to vote up to five of your favorites of the year. If you wish to do so, you may check <u>one</u> selection as your "top choice", which will then receive a bonus point toward their tally. Please be clear and obvious if you do this by designating "#1" or using an asterisk or similar.

You do <u>NOT</u> have to fully complete the ballot. Fill in as many (or as few) categories and slots as you are comfortable with. You do <u>NOT</u> have to be a member of Corflu or anything else for that matter. Voting is open to <u>anyone</u> with an interest in fanzines.

You do <u>NOT</u> have to have read or received any minimum number of fanzines to vote, although of course we encourage you to check out the contenders.

Use of the form on the following page is <u>NOT</u> required. Voters may alternatively send a simple list of their preferences to the award administrator by the deadline.

NOTE:

All voters are asked to clearly supply their names and contact details (physical or electronic). **Ballots lacking this information will be summarily rejected**.

VOTING DEADLINE:

Ballots should be received by midnight (PST) Saturday February 24, 2024

2024 FAAn Awards: Categories

FANZINE CATEGORIES

GENZINE:

A fanzine which typically has multiple contributors in addition to its editor(s).

PERZINE:

A fanzine which typically has few, if any, contributors other than its editor(s).

SPECIAL PUBLICATION:

A "one-shot" fanzine or collection or limited series (in the latter case this includes convention newsletters)

INDIVIDUAL CATEGORIES

FANWRITER:

A writer who has work first appearing in a 2023 fanzine.

FANARTIST:

An artist who has work first appearing in a 2023 fanzine.

LETTERHACK (HARRY WARNER, JR. MEMORIAL AWARD):

Loccer whose responses have appeared in a 2023 fanzine.

COVER:

Best fanzine cover (including bacovers) of 2023. Please cite title, issue # and artist.

2024 FAAn Awards: Ballot Pro Forma

See previous page for instructions. Votes must be **received** before midnight PST, Saturday February 24, 2024. Use of this specific form is not required.

Send to <u>fareynic@gmail.com</u>, or snail mail 2657 Rungsted Street, Las Vegas NV 89142, USA

GENZINE

FANARTIST

LETTERHACK



PERZINE

1	

SPECIAL PUBLICATION/ONE-SHOT



FANZINE COVER



FANWRITER



YOUR NAME:

YOUR CONTACT DETAILS:

<u>GENZINES</u>

<u>TITLE</u>

A-ZYN ALEXIAD ASKANCE **BANANA WINGS** BCSFAZINE CYBERCOZEN ELDRITCH SCIENCE **ENDEAVOR** ETHEL THE AARDVARK FANACTIVITY GAZETTE FILMS FANTASTIC **IDEA INCA IONISPHERE** JOURNEY PLANET LITTLEBROOK METEOR MOOT ORIGIN PABLO LENNIS PORTABLE STORAGE **SCIENTIFICTION** SF COMMENTARY THE DRINK TANK THE N3F REVIEW OF BOOKS THE NATIONAL FANTASY FAN TIGHTBEAM WARP

Editor(s)

Marcin "Aqua" Klak Joseph & Lisa Major John Purcell Claire Brialey, Mark Plummer R Graeme Cameron Leybl Botwinik George Phillies Kurt Erichsen LvnC George Phillies, Mindy Hunt Heath Row Geri Sullivan Rob Jackson John Thiel James Bacon, Chris Garcia et al Jerry Kaufman & Suzanne Tompkins John Thiel Martin Petto John Thiel John Thiel William Breiding John L. Coker Bruce Gillespie Chris Garcia, Alissa Wales, Chuck Serface George Phillies George Phillies, Jon Swartz George Phillies, Jon Swartz **Danny Sichel**

<u>PERZINES</u>

<u>TITLE</u>

Editor(s)

ANSIBLE	David Langford
BUNYIP & AYOTOCHTLI	Bob Hole
CAPTAIN FLASHBACK	Andy Hooper
CLAIMS DEPARTMENT	Chris Garcia
DARK TOYS	Taral Wayne
DOT-FANZINE / ELLIPSIS	John D. Berry
EVENT HORIZON	John Thiel
FANAC NEWSLETTER	Joe Siclari & Edie Stern
INTERMISSION	Arvid Engholm
JENZINE	J L Farey
KNOT A FANZINE	Marc Ortlieb
LOFGEORNOST	Fred Lerner
OPUNTIA	Dale Speirs
MARK TIME	Mark Strickert
MT VOID	Evelyn Leeper
MY BACK PAGES / YOU'RE STILL ON MY MIND	
	Rich Lynch
NOWHERE FAN	Christina Lake
PERRYSCOPE	Perry Middlemiss
PIXEL DREAMS	Alan White
PURRSONAL MEWSINGS	R Laurraine Tutihasi
RAY X X-RAYER	Ray Palm
RHYME & PARADOX	Kat Templeton
SPARTACUS	Guy Lillian III
THE INCOMPLEAT REGISTER	Nic Farey
THE MEGALOSCOPE	David Grigg
THE OBDURATE EYE	Garth Spencer
THE STF AMATEUR (APAZINE BUNDLE)	Heath Row
THE ZINE DUMP	Guy Lillian III
THIS HERE	Nic Farey
THROUGH THE BIBLIOSCOPE	David Grigg
VANAMONDE	John Hertz
VITA TRANSPLANTARE	John Nielsen Hall
WILD IDEAS	Henry Grynnsten

ONE-SHOT/SPECIAL/LIMITED SERIES

<u>TITLE</u>

Editor(s)/Compiler(s)

1965: THE SECOND BRITISH WORLDCON	Rob Hansen
BEYOND FANDOM: FANS, CULTURE & POLITICS	
IN THE 20TH CENTURY	Rob Hansen
BRITISH SF CONVENTIONS VOLUME 1: 1937-1951	Rob Hansen
CORFLU CRAIC: CELEBRATING IRISH FANDOM	
AND CORFLU	Rob Jackson, Pat Virzi, Sue Mason
FIRST FANDOM CONVERSATIONS	John L. Coker III, Jon. D. Swartz
GENERATION FEMIZINE	Rob Hansen
LIENZINE (DENNY LIEN MEMORIAL)	Karen Schaffer & Geri Sullivan
TAKE THE LEAP (COR41U PRS)	Nic Farey
THE AMAZING EDITORIALS (TED WHITE)	David Langford
THE DAILY DISCOURSE	Flick, Alison Scott, Mike Scott, Steve
(EASTERCON 2023 NEWSLETTER)	Davies
THE FANTASTIC EDITORIALS (TED WHITE)	David Langford
THE HARP REMEMBERED (WALT WILLIS)	David Langford
WOOF #48	Donald E. Eastlake III